Array questions. Deleting/renaming?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Array questions. Deleting/renaming?

Galdy(Posted 2011) [#1]
How do you delete an array so it is not using up memory? Also, can is it possible to rename an array and without losing it's contents, or do you have to dim a new array if you want to store the data of the old array you are deleting?

Galdy

etxtra(Posted 2011) [#2]
hi @Galdy, I'm new to blitz3D but I have a good experience with Basic programming (QBasic, DarkBasic pro... yes I've used these) :
-from what I can see in the documentation you can't delete an array nor a variable ; note that in other Basic languages there is an "UnDim" function...
-you can't rename an array in Blitz3D and if you want to change its size you may lose the data. You may create a new array and then copy data from the first to the new...
-this is what I've understood from the documentation...
hope it helps.

Last edited 2011

Yasha(Posted 2011) [#3]
First thing: there are two kinds of array in Blitz3D: function-style, and C-style. They're completely different animals and don't really interact in any way.
Dim myFStyleArray(100)
Global myCStyleArray[100]

Function-style (or Basic-style, or Dim-style - I call them function-style because they look like function invocations) arrays:
- are always global
- can be resized
- can never be used as first-class values

This means that that array lives in that variable, can't be put in another variable with an assignment expression or as a function parameter, and they're visible throughout the entire program (same as globals and function definitions). If you want to expand or shrink the array (saving memory might well be one reason) you can change its size by calling Dim a second time. You can Dim or re-Dim an array to have zero elements when you're done with it. What you can't do is extend an array while using it, as the current elements will be lost.