Why is Global considered bad?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Why is Global considered bad?

Rob the Great(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hey all,

I've seen multiple posts where experienced programmers have mentioned that using Global variables isn't good practice and should be avoided if possible.

Is there a specific reason why? I don't overkill the Global variables in my programming, but I certainly use a lot of them only because it seems that there's no other way to share those variables throughout the whole program, including more than one function and whatnot (e.g. a Global variable for the amount of life remaining which is accessed many times throughout the game.)

As a self-taught programmer, I've always done things my own way, but if I ever considered working with a team, I would want them to be able to read and understand my code easily.

Yasha(Posted 2011) [#2]
I've seen multiple posts where experienced programmers have mentioned that using Global variables isn't good practice and should be avoided if possible.

You sure it's not just me doing that?

The reason is to do with side effects and referential transparency. In other words, what effects can a function have on the program as a whole that aren't completely described by the parameters and return value? Any such effects can't immediately be determined at the call site, and therefore it makes it harder to reason about that function's behaviour. The other thing is that functions exist to encapsulate operations; if the variables being used are shared, the operation isn't properly separated from the rest of the code logic. Not so bad when the procedure is doing something with a world-state thing like a global list or the main camera, but when minor temp variables are shared between procedures, there's no clear division of logic. It may make it impossible to express some structures altogether (e.g. recursion doesn't work if each invocation of the function can mutate the same variables).