green circle over the player (surface?)

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/green circle over the player (surface?)

rufio72(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hello i'm new to b3d.
I'm making a small test.

I would like to create a green circle over the player.

Example :

I don't know how to solve the problem.

A small and easy example would be apprecited

Thank you

Rufio

_PJ_(Posted 2010) [#2]
Looks like Spellforce ^^ :D

Anywho, not that I've really done anything similar myself, the principle is fairly straightforward I think, and for all intents and purposes is essentially the same kinda thing as adding a simple shadow under a mesh...

I think there's 2 main ways to approach this, I have no idea which is preferred...

One way, is to superimpose a sprite (or better yet, an infinitely tihn, one-sided mesh) over the terrain.

The other, is to temporarily blend a new texture onto the terrain.

I'm not really able to give much in the way of code for this, but, at least, here's how I'd approach the situation (using the first method)

1) Identify the actual triangle(s) under the 'selected character'
2) Work out the geometry of these triangles, particularly, the most obvious angle to use.
3) Create a flat, thin, 'quad' mesh or a sprite with the 'independant from camera' view mode. ***
4) Rotate the quad/sprite to match with the triangle of the terrain's angles.
5) place the flat mesh centred under the character with a slight difference in the 'Y' value (height) - If necessary, alter the EntityOrder value so the circle might show even if 'hidden' by something else?

In situations where you may have LOTS of 'units selected', it would perhaps be beneficial to make use of a 'single-surface' mesh. Instead of creating a new mesh each time, this method would sinply involve using AddMesh.

Ross C(Posted 2010) [#3]