Starting My Programming Journey

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Starting My Programming Journey

Kirkkaf13(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hi all,

I have just purchased/downloaded Blitz3D I am completely new to this how should I start my journey in BlitzBasic?

Regards,

Kirk.

Ross C(Posted 2010) [#2]
Well, that's a tough one... I suppose you should start by reading through the helps docs and tutorials that come with it. Are you completely new to programming?

Yasha(Posted 2010) [#3]
Well, the first thing you'll need is a decent editor (the one included with Blitz3D isn't very good).

If you plan to make 2D games and applications, or want a reasonable amount of 2D displayed over 3D scenes, a "2D in 3D" drawing library is a fast and powerful addition to your toolset.

There's an enormous wealth of free goodies in the code archives, so be sure to look there if you need a specific solution to a problem. There are also plenty of free samples and libraries floating around the forums, so search for anything you're interested in as someone's probably given it a go before you.

Don't use Goto or Global variables, or the bear will eat you.

Other than that... as long as you have a specific idea of what you want to achieve, the rest will fall into place as you go on.

Kirkkaf13(Posted 2010) [#4]
Hi there,

I would just like to say thanks for your replys, I anit completely new to programming as I have some knowledge in basic and VB.NET.

E.G.

Variables, Arrays, Functions, Gobal, local, basic mathmatics, various loops, If statements ect...

I guess I need to start by programming in console before I move onto graphics then eventually 2D - 3D games.

If anyone has any tips or reccomendations please let me know.

EDITED:

Use GoSub and Local/Private instead of Goto and Gobal?

- Thanks

Kirk.

Yasha(Posted 2010) [#5]