Creating realistic gravity

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Creating realistic gravity

A51M15X(Posted 2009) [#1]
Does any one know a way to create gravity that gradually increases in speed when you fall? I'm not very good with c++ so could you kind of explain it in detail? I asked this once before but i went to the blitzmax forums by accident.

Yasha(Posted 2009) [#2]
1) (Recommended solution) Use a third-party physics engine. ODE is OK, and both free and commercial (but stabler and supported) versions exist.

2) Use something extremely loosely based on verlet integration:

(Better examples by Stevie and Nate exist, check the code archives)

"Verlet integration" for the purposes of this just means store the object's old position, get the difference between that and it's current position, and move it further by that amount, less friction and plus gravity. The resulting movement looks relatively natural although it's not really possible to simulate collisions accurately if you keep it all within Blitz3D.

_Skully(Posted 2009) [#3]
The basics of gravity are simple...

you have an x and y position (2d example)

you also have velocity which is added to the values each iteration of the game...

Gravity is just an amount added to the y velocity each iteration

A51M15X(Posted 2009) [#4]
It needs to be 3D so does that mean i need an X, Y, and Z position?

_Skully(Posted 2009) [#5]
Yes... If memory serves (provided you haven't rotated everything) Y is still your vertical... so gravity would still be added to that velocity

AJ00200(Posted 2009) [#6]
Objects accelerate downwards at 32 feet per second on earth.
So it depends on the scale of the world, and what gravity power you want.

_Skully(Posted 2009) [#7]
So it depends on the scale of the world, and what gravity power you want.

Thats the most relevant. True gravity never fits in a game world

A51M15X(Posted 2009) [#8]