Creating bullets

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Creating bullets

Kairu(Posted 2009) [#1]
I am very new to using blitz3d and can not figure out at all how to program a player to shoot. im still on 2d games. any help would be great. : )

GfK(Posted 2009) [#2]
Pseudocode:
Bullet = CreateCube()

Repeat
  MoveEntity Bullet,0,0,1
Until Bullet Hits Something

Ross C(Posted 2009) [#3]
It's a broad question really. The differences between 2d shooting and 3d shooting depend on what game it's used on.

For instance, a sniper rifle. You wouldn't really want to produce a visible bullet for this, because of the speed it will travel. Your best bet would be a linepick, for an instant hit.

But, a tank, shooting a shell, you'd want to produce a bullet mesh, or sprite of some kind. The code behind it is pretty simple. As Gfk says, move the bullet till it hits something, or it moves too far away. If you have a 3d gun, you'd want to parent a pivot to the gun, to give each bullet a start position.

If your just starting out on 3d stuff, try some really simple stuff, like moving the camera about with the keys. It will get you used to the entity system and the commands needed.

AJ00200(Posted 2009) [#4]
make an array
Dim bullets(100)
for i=0 to 100
    bullets(i)=createCilinder()
    hiteentity(bullets(i))
Next

while not keydown(1)
   <MOVE BULLET CODE>
   if <DETECT COLLISION CODE>
       <HIDE HIT BULLET CODE>    end if 
wend

System4 Studios(Posted 2009) [#5]
A lil correction to AJ's code

it's not
hiteentity(bullets(i))

It's

HideEntity(bullets(i)

Kairu(Posted 2009) [#6]
thank you guys. i keep trying to understand the arrays and all the books i read are not really giving me much application to games. I dont really know what they do except the basic data creation.

Warner(Posted 2009) [#7]
Well, games are programs, too. You can use arrays to store level data in a 2d tile engine. You could store highscores in it. There are all sorts of usage for arrays in games.