.3ds

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/.3ds

Gorley(Posted 2009) [#1]
Hello,

I'm really new to blitz3D but i've been programming BlitzPlus for a while. Is the .3ds format supported in Blitz3D? I tried but the error popup said "entity does not exist". Heres the source code:

Graphics3D 800,600,16

jelly=LoadSprite("C:\My Documents\jelly.3ds")

light=CreateLight(1)
cam=CreateCamera()

PointEntity light,jelly

While Not KeyDown(1)

x#=0
y#=0
z#=0

If KeyDown(205)
x#=.1
EndIf

If KeyDown(203)
x#=-.1
EndIf

If KeyDown(200)
y#=.1
EndIf

If KeyDown(208)
y#=-.1
EndIf

If KeyDown(30)
z#=.1
EndIf

If KeyDown(44)
z#=-.1
EndIf

If KeyDown(35)
roll#=.5
EndIf

If KeyDown(34)
roll#=-.5
EndIf

RotateEntity jelly,pitch#,yaw#,roll#
MoveEntity jelly,x#,y#,z#

RenderWorld
Flip
Wend

_PJ_(Posted 2009) [#2]
I think only md2, b3d and .x formats can be used in Blitz.

I think someone made a converter for .3ds though I'l see if I can find it

Gabriel(Posted 2009) [#3]
Yes, the .3ds format is supported, but you're loading a sprite, not a 3d model. A sprite is a sprite is a sprite. It has two triangles and four vertices. It always will have. It doesn't need any geometry. What it needs ( and what LoadSprite takes if you open the documentation ) is a texture. 3DS is not a texture. Which is why you're getting an error.

LoadSprite ( tex_file$[,tex_flag][,parent] )  

Parameters:

text_file$ - filename of image file to be used as sprite

tex_flag (optional) - texture flag:
1: Color
2: Alpha
4: Masked
8: Mipmapped
16: Clamp U
32: Clamp V
64: Spherical reflection map

parent - parent of entity 

Description:

Creates a sprite entity, and assigns a texture to it. 

Kryzon(Posted 2009) [#4]
http://blitzbasic.com/b3ddocs/command.php?name=LoadMesh

of course .3ds can be used in B3D!

Problem is that you are loading a mesh with the command LoadSprite, which is meant for 2D images (BMP, PNG, JPG, that sort of stuff). You need to use LoadMesh or LoadAnimMesh (for animated models).