Making txts you can work with in notepad

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Making txts you can work with in notepad

fox95871(Posted 2009) [#1]
I played a Blitz game one time that had some txt files in its program folder for what looked like user variables, but it had very readable words and numbers instead of symbols. I'm currently studying the file commands, but so far I can't seem to make anything but txts that are all symbols when you open them in Notepad. I want some aspects of my engine like character dialogs to be editable outside the engine since making some kind of word processor applet for my engine is definitely not something I want to do! Can someone please explain how I can make Notepad editable txts that hold variables?

Here's part of one of the txts in the game I mentioned:

Ross C(Posted 2009) [#2]
don't use .txts. Just make your own file format.

Create a file called yourfile.dat in blitz, and save out all the data you want in it, via writeline usually. You can then open this in notepad and edit it. Not sure if saving will cause it to save as a .txt though.

PowerPC603(Posted 2009) [#3]
Try this:

Source-code:
Graphics 800, 600, 0, 2

; Setup global vars
Global ScreenWidth, ScreenHeight, ScreenDepth, ScreenMode
Global ScaleableWindow

; Open the file
Global File = ReadFile("Test.txt")
; Keep reading until End Of File has been reached
While Not Eof(File)
	Local LineFromFile$

; Read an entire line from the file
	LineFromFile$ = ReadLine$(File)

; Check the parameter to be read from the file
	Select LineFromFile$
		Case "[screen settings]"
			ScreenWidth = Int(ReadParameter$())
			ScreenHeight = Int(ReadParameter$())
			ScreenDepth = Int(ReadParameter$())
			TempMode$ = ReadParameter$()
			If TempMode$ = "windowed" Then ScreenMode = 2
			If TempMode$ = "full" Then ScreenMode = 1

Case "[scaleable window]"
			ScaleableWindow = Int(ReadParameter$())
	End Select
Wend
; Close the file
CloseFile File

If ScreenMode = 1 Then