New and need help

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/New and need help

Nike(Posted 2008) [#1]
Hi im really new to blitz and I got blitz3D. I was woundering if anyone would like to make a huge 3rd person shooter game?
Im not that good at blitz so i think it would really help me. Im good with drawing pic's in paint and i can make text based rpg's so any help would be alsome. Please post if you even see this so i know that the blitz forums are still alive. Thanks

Mortiis(Posted 2008) [#2]
Big goal for a newcomer. You can't jump from a text based game to a "huge 3rd person shooter". I see you ask for a programmer help but this way all the codes will be done by the second programmer and you will get bored.

Nike(Posted 2008) [#3]
I know it's big but i would really enjoy learning how to do it. Here is a code i found for a shooter game (I did not make it!)

Pirate(Posted 2008) [#4]
I was woundering if anyone would like to make a huge 3rd person shooter game?

hello nike,

to place your code in a code box just click on "forum codes" at the top of the post reply to topic box...this will keep your post from taking up three pages...

the code you have is for a first person shooter....i think you should start by learning the basics of programming first...if people start a project with you, i'm sure they will want you to know some programming...there are not very many pictures drawn in a fps game...you will need some 3d modeling skills and texture making skills...a huge project can take years to complete and requires a lot of work...try starting smaller...the code you have is for a net game...this will be very confusing to a beginner and slow down the learning process...this is all just my opinion and some friendly advice...i hope it helps you in the long road you are now walking down...

Ginger Tea(Posted 2008) [#5]
reminds me of when blitz3D arrived EVERYONE wanted to be the next halo/doom beater yet had no coding skills whatsoever

edit:
aye *caugh*codebox*caugh*