Pop ups

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Pop ups

Nate the Great(Posted 2008) [#1]
Is there a way to make a program in B3d that runs itself only when it reaches a certain time, like a reminder program.

chwaga(Posted 2008) [#2]
I don't believe so, however, perhaps you could create a program in C++ to do this? There's the ExecFile command in blitz3d that will run a file, but I don't think there is a way to make a program that runs without a window, and just as a process.

Nate the Great(Posted 2008) [#3]
Ok. I'm kinda new to B3d, so I don't know all of the commands yet. Thanks.

Ginger Tea(Posted 2008) [#4]
even in c i think the program would have to be TSR (terminate stay resident) or whatever they call em these days
it has to be manually launched (even if thats just putting it in the start up folder) and it just sits there waiting
i dont know blitz's memory footprint in this regard but its probably not as efficient as a simple .com

chwaga(Posted 2008) [#5]
You can make programs launch at startup by adding it to msconfig. If you make it a process, but never create a window (I'm unsure how you do this), it will be a process.

GfK(Posted 2008) [#6]
Create a window, then call EndGraphics.

Yahfree(Posted 2008) [#7]
as the others said, I'd make a program in C++ or C# that starts up and runs in the background that would keep track of time and when the time is right it would launch the b3d program.

If you need assistance making such a program, I can help :). As I'm currently learning C#.

chwaga(Posted 2008) [#8]
I didn't know there was an EndGraphics command...the internal help files need to be updated, they're missing over a hundred commands.