How to determine if the character can jump or not

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/How to determine if the character can jump or not

UnderwoodNullium(Posted 2008) [#1]
How can I determine whether to let the character jump or not when I press the jump key? The character should only be able to jump if he is on the ground. I'm VERY new to the Blitz3D commands but my guess is I would do a 'linepick' with a radius equal to that of my character from the bottom of my character to a small amount straight down, and if the linepick "picks" (??) my level mesh then allow the character to jump? That's the basic idea, right? So... is this partly right?

bbLinePick(bbEntityX(character),bbEntityY(character)+character_radius,bbEntityZ(character),0,0.1,0)

Do a line pick from the bottom of my character to just a LITTLE bit lower and see if it overlaps the level mesh? Can someone show me exactly how to do this? I don't know if this is the right approach. If not, then can someone show me the best way to do what I want to do?

Thank you so much.

EDIT: I found the solution in a thread called 'Jump Limit'. But I'm still wondering exactly how to use linepick properly, so if someone could show me it would be much appreciated.

Ross C(Posted 2008) [#2]
Well, the linepick from the characters location is all you need to do. Simply do this downward, half the height of your character. It all depends where the centre of your character lies. Some people have the character with the local axis centred on the characters feet.

So, do a linepick downwards and then: (Btw, you need to do a minus number on the Y axis, if your picking downwards.

If PickedEntity() <> 0 then
     ; Put code for jumping in here
End if

Your checking if any entity was picked by the linepick. If it was, then start the jump. Your best to set a variable:

jumping = 1

and constantly check with the same linepick if he has touched the floor:

linepick blah blah

If PickedEntity() <> 0 = then
   If jumping = 1 then