Another Text Box...I need help...

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Another Text Box...I need help...

Cp(Posted 2008) [#1]
Okay, I'm trying to do a TextBox Thing sort of like DarkShadowWings...Except using an image for the box. I'd like to have word wrap too...It's a pain to do 16 chars per line,no more and have to print a million times.
I have no idea where to even start.
I guess I'm still a noob. :)

So could anybody help me????????
P.S.The reason I'm doing this is for an RPG I'm working on.

EDIT:
You know, the kind in videogames when youre talking?

Warner(Posted 2008) [#2]
Have you looked in the code archive ?
http://www.blitzmax.com/codearcs/codearcs.php?cat=5

Cp(Posted 2008) [#3]
Just checked.Much to my dismay, there was nothing.

Warner(Posted 2008) [#4]
Well, there is some code for a text box:
http://www.blitzmax.com/codearcs/codearcs.php?code=2022
Remove the clipboardcommands to see it running.

As for breaking a string in series of 16 chars, use Mid$. It returns a specified part of a string.
t$ = "12047ghikjghdfsakjhgkjdsaliuryewiuyrioewqiroye q ruiewoq iurye wiqyrewiuqoyreiuow qyriue"

For i = 1 To Len(t$)
	Print Mid$(t$, i, 16)
	i = i + 15
Next

To search a string for spaces, use Instr(). It searches for a string in another string and returns the location where it was found.

Cp(Posted 2008) [#5]
Not input textbox, I mean the kind like in RPGs where in battles, it says stuff like "You cause the enemy 10 damage"

Warner(Posted 2008) [#6]
Okay, I should read better. Try to combine the above with some Millisecs() timeout routine to show the text line-by-line.
timeout = MilliSecs()

While Not KeyHit(1)

If MilliSecs() > timeout + 500 Then
		timeout = MilliSecs()
		Print timeout
	End If

Wend

Cp(Posted 2008) [#7]
16 was an example. :) Im getting it to work
For some reason it only works with print...I can't use text?

GIB3D(Posted 2008) [#8]
I think Text doesn't work because you specify where the text is put onscreen