New Blitz Basic tutorial on youtube

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/New Blitz Basic tutorial on youtube

andy_mc(Posted 2008) [#1]
Hi all,

I've started to produce a series of beginners tutorials for Blitz Basic on you tube:

http://www.youtube.com/amcadam26

Feel free to leave comments, let me know what to improve, and anything you'd like to see covered.

It's meant to be a guide for complete beginners, so you won't be seeing any advance topics like client server networking and only very simple 3D code. But it's enough to get you started. There's 3 sessions right now, and I'll try to add a couple of sessions every week.

6(Posted 2008) [#2]
Nice tutorials Andy. You don't rush though them which is good and I like that you've set the text to large so its easy to read. I can see beginners getting quite a bit out these. Infact, some of us more seasoned users out there might gain from them too. I didn't know about that handy F1 feature!!

What i would like to see is a list or an idea of what future tutorials will include. If I was to complete all these lessons what will I be able to do at the end of it? Will it give me the skills to build my own Doom3 engine or will it be space invaders?

Anyway, good job so far. I look for forward to contining, erm, continnuing, erm contin, erm doing more of these ;)

andy_mc(Posted 2008) [#3]
LOL, probably closer to Space Invaders than Doom 3. But Blitz is capable of games approaching the look of Doom 3. Doom does use shaders though, which Blitz doesn't natively support, so you would have to fake them, and I don't know how to do that.

I''ll put up a list somewhere of what each lesson will cover, that way people can give feedback and I can adjust it accordingly based on this.

Ross C(Posted 2008) [#4]
Good idea man. Sometimes it can be hard to explain things in just text, so good on you :o)

andy_mc(Posted 2008) [#5]