Game Timing / Input Management

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Game Timing / Input Management

Mr. Reda Borchardt(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hello,

I would like to know if there is a good game timing and input management library that I could download for free or buy for Blitz3D. Generic event management would also be cool.

It has been a very very long time that I haven't been programming in Blitz3D anymore. I am therefore not up-to-date anymore with the latest and/or established best practices.

I have at the moment Blitz3D and the SpriteCandy package (I wish the latter one would have existed back in the early days of Blitz3D!!!).

Please don't reply with "you could easily do it yourself... delta time... blabla". I am not a good programmer but I do have some basic Blitz3D experience. For those of you that have the CD version of Blitz3D - the open-dna demos were written by me a long time ago.

What I am looking for is a robust, tested and lag free implementation of reading and queuing user input and managing time. I believe that a guy called swift (or something like that) developed an event management framework.

Your help in finding the best solution would be greatly appreciated. It's very difficult to dwelve through the forums and try to separate the "HI GUYS HERE IS A COOL LIBRARY" from the stuff that really works and is widely used.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Kind regards
Reda Borchardt

Dreamora(Posted 2007) [#2]
Naw there isn't any from what I know.

1. Blitz3D has no events so no event management at all. Blitz3D is fully polled

2. The only thing near to that, that I've ever seen was a small system that allowed "free input mapping" through the user.

The user you mean is sswift and should be easy to find even thought more likely on the BM boards today but his "software systems" are all linked in his worklogs.

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2007) [#3]