Character animation

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Character animation

Blitz3dCoder(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hi,
I downloaded that animated dwarf mesh from psionic, and I studied the code, on how to animate it. That is all good.
However, whenever I want to use the running animation when i am moving forward,
tried this:
;move character forward
If KeyDown( 200 )=True Then MoveEntity char,0,0,.08 
;animate character while moving forward
If KeyDown( 200 )=True Then Animate char,1,.2,seq,1

And while i was holding the up arrow, he froze in the air with his legs apart, so i took my finger off of the arrow key, and he was running.

I would like to know how to animate a character while moving forward. It is probably obvious but...

Also, No matter how many times I checked the entityradius, and stuff, he has been floating about 0,1,0 above the ground

Is it a problem w/ the mesh?
I kinda dismissed that, since, this psionic guy looks like he knows what he is doing.

Any help would be great!

jhocking(Posted 2007) [#2]
The problem is that you are triggering the Animate command over and over; that is restarting the animation each time, so it looks like it is stuck at the beginning. Use the command AnimSeq to only start the animation if it isn't already in the animation.

Also, you don't need to do If KeyDown(200) twice, just put it all inside one If statement:
If KeyDown(200)
  MoveEntity blah
  If AnimSeq()<>seq Animate blah
End If

As for the EntityRadius, you have to bear in mind that the radius is from the origin point of the model. Psionic is probably setting his character's feet at the origin point (this is how most people animate, with their character walking on the base grid of the animation tool) so you will need to raise up the origin point for EntityRadius, probably by attaching the dwarf to a pivot and using that pivot for collision detection.

Blitz3dCoder(Posted 2007) [#3]
'not enough parameters'

Here is the code involving my animmesh