which blitz product is right for me?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/which blitz product is right for me?

DCI(Posted 2007) [#1]
I bought ALL of the main blitz programs, blitz3d, blitzplus and blitzmax.. Im trying to learn to program.. but.. i dont know which of these i should begin my adventure in.. 14 years ago, i was a pro with Basica, but, its been a while :) WHat are the pros and cons, of each of the 3 products? which one should i begin learning, and taking to heart? I've been told there are gigantic differences in the programs.. please.. which would be the right one for me, and why?

Mortiis(Posted 2007) [#2]
It depends on what you want to achieve.

Blitz3D is stable, has 3D and 2D support via Directx7,
comes with a fully featured game engine (no built-in physics and no shader support due to dx7)
It also has dll support which means you can expand the
abilities of blitz3d, there are various libraries including
physics.

BlitzMax is the most powerful and fast. It's the latest one
that released also it has better object oriented programming
support which is very important. It comes with a full
featured 2D engine and there is minib3d engine written
in opengl which mimics the original blitz3d.

BlitzPlus which I haven't experienced look nice with win32
support but nothing you can't achieve using other blitz
versions. But as I said I am not the person who should talk about bPlus.

Cheers.

Blitzplotter(Posted 2007) [#3]
If you already have Blitz3D, I'd recommend downloading the demo version of the following for a good example of how quick you can produce Blitz3D apps:-

http://jv-ode.devcode.co.uk/

I also have BMax, and have used it in conjunction with Grey Alien's Framework to produce some nice apps.... I think it is an adventure you are trying to develop ? 2D or 3D ? I'd presume 3d.....