Huge Map?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Huge Map?

Azaratur(Posted 2007) [#1]
I need to create a huge map, but i don't know how...
I thinked to create many little maps and put them near (like a puzzle) but i understand that is not so easy...
I create an huge map but this have too many poly (more then 50k!!!).
Can you suggest me a good way to create a "low" poly map, and how texturing it?
In a demo map i see an heightsomething.. What is it?
In the same demo i see a jpg file with grass color, rock color and road color (in other word a texture of a map!) How i can create it?

Sorry i am a beginner.. :)
Aza

IPete2(Posted 2007) [#2]
Aza,

A Heightmap is a greyscale image which defines how the terrain it will create will look. The white/light grey areas will be high and the darker areas will be low. Black areas will be lowest.

See the "xfighter.bb" demo in the samples folder in 3d under MAK folder in the blizt main installation folder. Have a look at the media to see what the terrain bmp looks like.

Also the Markio castle demo has a terrain map, as does the car demo.

The terrains generated are Blitz terrains and they have a few clever functions and features which make expansive maps worth doing this way. Check out filax's 'TerraEd' or the other terrain editor 'TED' as featured in the toolbox section of this website.

Good luck.

IPete2.

chwaga(Posted 2007) [#3]
as IPete said, a heightmap is much like a greyscale displacement map. The lighter areas go up, and the darker areas will go down. If you're having trouble with lag, there's a way to use LoD managers in blitz, so things get lower-poly as they get further away, It's in one of the examples that come with blitz.

Azaratur(Posted 2007) [#4]
Thanks for reply, just another few questions..

(ipete2) thanks i'll try this programs, if i'll have other problem can i ask to you again?