Model too big? Or what...

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Model too big? Or what...

Sk8ter(Posted 2007) [#1]
Ok, I'm sorry I'm pretty new at Blitz3D and basically everything I'm doing right now.

So here's what I did:

I downloaded a file for Google Sketchup, the file was an entire city, so of course it's a big file.
When I go into Model Info, it says 16848 Faces.

So then I exported it to a .3ds file, and copied all the textures and the model into one folder. Then a friend gave me a small thing to test it to see if it would work, when I ran it, it gave me the error "Memory access violation".

Previously to running it, I had saved it in the same folder as all the textures and the model.
Here's the script if it helps:

Graphics3D 800,600

SetBuffer BackBuffer()

camera=CreateCamera()
CameraViewport camera,0,0,800,600

light=CreateLight()

city=LoadMesh( "city.3DS" )
PositionEntity city,0,0,7

While Not KeyHit(1)

If KeyDown(200) Then
MoveEntity city,0,0.05,0
EndIf

If KeyDown(203) Then
TurnEntity city,0,0,1.0
EndIf

If KeyDown(205) Then
TurnEntity city,0,0,-1.0
EndIf

UpdateWorld
RenderWorld

Flip

Wend
End

Oh, and in the debug it highlights "RenderWorld" when the error pops up.
So if anyone can tell me what's wrong or how to fix it, that would be great.

Thanks,
Ryan

puki(Posted 2007) [#2]
Enable Debug mode and then let us know what the exact error is.

Sk8ter(Posted 2007) [#3]
It is enabled, nothing shows up in the Debug Log.

big10p(Posted 2007) [#4]
You'll get this error if the model contains too many vertices/triangles - I think it's a DX7 limitation. You'll have to break the model up into manageble chunks, I'm afraid.

chwaga(Posted 2007) [#5]
16k faces is over the dx7 limit?? 0 RLY?

Sk8ter(Posted 2007) [#6]
Thanks for the replies, I appreciate the help.

Do you have any suggestions for breaking it into parts? Or limiting the number of faces?

chwaga(Posted 2007) [#7]