brightness and contrast

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/brightness and contrast

orion one(Posted 2007) [#1]
hi guys, i am an old newbie in blitz3D in that i got my hands in it a few years ago and had to sto pusing it so i have to start from scratch again... i need to draw a picture from bytes on a disk file, and then adjust brightness and/or contrast; how can i do that just like all the free image browsers do? i get flickering in all my attemps to do it smoothly. please help and thanks in advance

chwaga(Posted 2007) [#2]
try something like this:

and adjust the RGB's to whatever effect you want :)

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2007) [#3]
Not sure if rounding as in chagwas sample will do the job. It's however a useful example on how to handle RGB colors.

Brightness can be altered easily. Simply extract r,g and b rom rgb, then add or subtract a certain value to/from each channel and make sure it will be remain within 0 to 255. Then reassemble rgb.

Assuming you have taken a 24bit color value named rgb from somewhere:
brighten=30
r=(rgb and $FF0000) shr 16
g=(rgb and $FF00) shr 8
b=rgb and $FF

r=r+brighten
if r<0 then r=0
if r>255 then r=255

; do the same with g and b here

rgb2=(r shl 16) or (g shl 8) or b

Now rgb2 is the brightened rgb.

Contrast is a little harder. you may do it this way:

first extract r,g and b as before. Then subtract 128 from each channel, then mutiply it by a contrast alternation parameter, then add 128 again, then reassemble rgb. Something like this:
cp#=1.2
r=(rgb and $FF0000) shr 16
g=(rgb and $FF00) shr 8
b=rgb and $FF

r2#=r-128
g2#=g-128
b2#=b-128

r2=r2*cp
g2=g2*cp
b2=b2*cp

r=r2+128
g=g2+128
b=b2+128

if r<0 then r=0
if r>255 then r=255
; do the same with g and b here

rgb2=(r shl 16) or (g shl 8) or b

Now rgb2 is rgb with altered contrast.

Instead of using 128 as the "center" for contrast changes you may also use an other number, probably the images average brightness.