Getting Good

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Getting Good

mintybreath(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hi everyone. I am new to blitz. I dont know much code, only very basic. I was just kinda wondering. All of you on this site, how long did it take to get as good at coding as you all are, and what did you do to get that good?

I was just kinda wondering, because i find coding hard at the moment, and it is getting easier in time, but i just want to know, about how long it took for all you awesome coders to get as good as you are, giving me an idea of how long it will take me.

Thanks very much!

GfK(Posted 2007) [#2]
I don't think there's any simple answer to this - it depends how you define "good", so people are probably just going to tell you how long they've been doing it for etc.

I started programming in 1986, used Amstrad Locomotive BASIC for a few years, about six years Amiga programming in AMOS Pro and I've used Blitz on PC since its release in 2000.

So, 21 years, for me.

I had a couple of Amiga games published; International Golf and World Golf, loads of Licenceware stuff, and ten published PC games. Haven't really made much money until I started writing PC games with Blitz.

[edit] This should've probably gone in General Discussion.

Bukky(Posted 2007) [#3]
Practice makes perfect.

I started coding back in high school when my school offered an AP C++ series of courses. I did a bit of it in college too, but I learned the most when a buddy and I decided to try and make some casual games using Blitzmax. Just set little goals for yourself, get one or two things figured out each day, and then you'll have a game in no time. Though I would probably recommend starting with Blitzmax rather than Blitz3d....theres a lot less to worry about with 2D games.

The fact that the community on these sites is so awesome is a huge plus too. It would've taken me much longer to get my games out if it wasn't for these forums.

Now I work fulltime as a game developer.