Diary of a Noobody

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Diary of a Noobody

mkg(Posted 2007) [#1]
I had a thought that it might be of interest to share my experience of getting to grips with Blitz and my attempt to create my first game. I want to explain how I have gone from ‘Ooh what a cool toy’ to working on an actual game that might be worth playing. I’d be keen to hear other people’s experiences. I suspect there may be quite a few people who start out with Blitz and get discouraged as the dream game never materialises. So let’s encourage each other to finish fun games!

First the guilty admission – I bought Blitz3D 18 months ago and I haven’t made a game yet! I have messed about with it on and off since I bought it and played with all the samples. Had a few not very interesting ideas for games (mostly simple 2D or 3D shooters) and experimented with how such games might be implemented. I have some previous experience of programming in BASIC so I have been able to figure out most things (with frequent help from searching these forums and the code archives).