Running a compiled exe from a menu?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Running a compiled exe from a menu?

Quantum(Posted 2007) [#1]
I'm pretty new to Blitz so I've just made myself a little `collect some keys, open some doors` kinda adventure game as a way of teaching myself B3D.

I've just bought Sprite Candy and I'm trying to use one of the demo `menus` supplied with it to create a menu system that will load the .EXE of my little prog... my intention being then to re-run the menu when the timer in the adventure prog expires or the player quits.

Following the graphic set-up & button definitions in Sprite Candy is a section where the user can define actions to be taken on specific button clicks... IE :-

Case "CLICK"
PlaySound Snd_Click

Select Button
Case Button1
; BUTTON ACTION GOES HERE...
Case Button2
; BUTTON ACTION GOES HERE...
End Select

Along with several other permutations I've tried:

Select Button
Case Button1
execfile("testprog.exe")
Case Button2
End
End Select

... but all that seems to happen is the menu gets reduced to the task-bar and nothing else happens? (the `quit` button work though ;) lol).

I guess this was just a long winded way of asking... How (if at all possible) do I run a Blitz compiled EXE from within a Blitz compiled EXE lol... or would I have to incorporate the entire code of my prog INTO the same EXE as the `menu` routine by calling the various parts with "Include"?... simply having it run different .EXE's would be far more flexible for what I had in mind though.

I've searched the forum & couldn't seem to find an answer, so I'm sorry if this has been explained elsewhere!

Blitzplotter(Posted 2007) [#2]
I've had some luck with running compiled exe's from VB6... have you a copy of it ? Sorry, I have no experience of Sprite Candy.

Quantum(Posted 2007) [#3]