OH no! i'm making a dropdown menu!!

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/OH no! i'm making a dropdown menu!!

Yahfree(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hey, i'm making a dropdown menu function, after i'm done with it, it will be released into the code archive under userinput, this is the second GUI type thing i'v made (see 'Input "Field" ' under user input on CA's)

progress is great, in one day i got most of it done (i'm a newb yes i know)

i have a problem though...

This is what i have so far, im having a problem displaying the options, i'm using types as the options looping thru them and displaying all the "names" of all the objects under that type... and of course making them clickable...

heres my code, tell me what i'm doing wrong, i'm stumped it looks fine to me.. i'v been messing with this for multible hours, still no avail..

Yahfree(Posted 2007) [#2]
Hmm, this works:

but how do i get somthing like the first post to work??

Yahfree(Posted 2007) [#3]
Hmm, this works as well:

but i want it to display a field of multible objects(types)

like the first post...

if you have 4 types:

type1.type = new type
type1\name$="type1"

ect ect..

i want to know how to display those "name" fields in the same way as the working code above?

Ked(Posted 2007) [#4]
This one works more like a WinXP dropdown.

Yahfree(Posted 2007) [#5]
Cool, didnt think about that, I'm still stumped about displaying types... HELP!

b32(Posted 2007) [#6]
I think you need For..Each for that:
For it.Type = Each Type
  Print it\name$
Next

Yahfree(Posted 2007) [#7]
Thats what i thought, tell me whats wrong with the example on the first post...

it uses For...Each

yet it doesnt work, i cant figure out why, any ideas?

DJWoodgate(Posted 2007) [#8]
i

Yahfree(Posted 2007) [#9]
? Yes, i notice the "i" error in the program, but my question more or less is what do i replace that with?

Ben(t)(Posted 2007) [#10]