Square Dance

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Square Dance

Stollentroll(Posted 2007) [#1]
Hi there!

Hello, this my first post. Maybe you could help me?

Though I have some 3D experience (Softimage, Maya and various compositing programs) and some general programming knowledge I am pretty new to Blitz3D.

I would like to do following. (Well, it could be totally stupid and there might be more elegant approach to achieve the same result. So feel free to show me a smarter way how to do it. Neverthelessm it still really would help me if you could also show me how to do it the way I intended to do.)

WHAT I WANT TO DO
-----------------
A logo flies across the screen.

The logo has no depth is not modelled, but a simpled texture put on a square or a cube with Z almost zero or a surface.
Important condition: the logo has an alpha channel. Parts of the square/cube/surface are transparent.

TWO PROBLEMS I ENCOUNTERED
--------------------------
1. What is the proper item to use? A flat cube? A pre-modelled square/quad/surface from an external 3rd party modeller (XSI, Blender or the likes)? Or could I create my "own" square in Blitz3D - and would I have to use two triangles combined to one square mesh?
What would be the best way to do this and how?

2. Can I combine two textures and how? I would like to use one texture for the color and the details of the logo and a 2nd alpha texture to "cut out" the outline. Preferably with soft edges, not simply masked out yes/no, but a grayscale image.
I did not succeed at all in combining textures. Is this possible or would I have to use 32-bit-image with an included alpha channel

(I tried to scale down a cube, but despite how small the value I entered was the cube still had some depth where the texture showed.)

It would be very nice if you could help a bloody newbie!

All the best,

Florian

boomboom(Posted 2007) [#2]