Do Models Need Bones?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Do Models Need Bones?

Merrie(Posted 2007) [#1]
Can a model be animated without using bones? Or is it better to have a boned model? Thanks!

GfK(Posted 2007) [#2]
Depends.

If you want to animate something like a tank, you can just have the turret/chassis/barrel as separate meshes in the hierarchy and rotate them that way. You can use .x or .3ds format for this.

If you want animated people etc, you need boned meshes and that pretty much restricts you to .b3d format.

This should have gone in Blitz3D programming, not graphics showcase.

Mr Snidesmin(Posted 2007) [#3]
MD2 models don't need bones. . .

GfK(Posted 2007) [#4]
MD2 models don't need bones. . .
No, but there are problems surrounding the use of MD2s. I personally wouldn't bother. Most people don't.

Merrie(Posted 2007) [#5]
Ooops ! Sorry please delete Admins..

Mr Snidesmin(Posted 2007) [#6]
problems surrounding the use of MD2s

what are the problems?

I'm new to animation and I've started using MD2s because I've found that's the easiest and most reliable way to get a boned animation exported from 3ds max (using QTip) to a format blitz 3d can play. I've tried using pipeline for b3d files but this has been giving unpredictable results especially when the model needs scaling. . .

If there are issues with MD2s then I would like to know what they are because I'm about to embark on a project with a fair amount of animation in it. . . I don't want to have to do all the animation twice! :O)

Mattizzle(Posted 2007) [#7]
The only problem I know about is that it's really old... but it must have been a pretty good format considering that it was specifically designed for a series of games that are thought of as some of the most popular...

~matt

jfk EO-11110(Posted 2007) [#8]
Models do not only need bones, sometimes bones is all they got - bones and skin :/ Seriously - the bones format B3D and the nonboned formates 3DS and X both have their pros and cons.