Error Message EOF

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Error Message EOF

Merrie(Posted 2006) [#1]
I am brand new to Blitz 3D and am having a great time with it. I am also a beginning programmer, so this seems to be working out fine for me.

I also purchased the Blitz 3D book and am going through it and several of the website tutorials.

I am working through the Battle tutorial I found on the website and put in all of Chapter 1 details which deals with terrain and camera.

At this stage I figured I could view it so tried to and Im getting Expected End-of-file, would someone be kind enough to give me a hint of what the program is looking for?

Thank you!

Sledge(Posted 2006) [#2]
If you've no file access going on then it may be a typo in your code - I got something similar just the other week. Compiling is so fast that I test every few lines (or at least every block/sub/func) so I just fixed the last dumb mistake I made, saying "fancy that", and moved on without bothering to make a note of the details. Anyway, post the problematic code and we'll take a look.

D4NM4N(Posted 2006) [#3]
if you post the file access code we can better see the problem.

Unexpected end of file could be because you are attempting to read past the end of the file. For example if there are 100 items in your file and your code is trying to read 101 items from it youve got a problem

try adding an eof evaluator to the end of the loop, ie:
file=readfile("name.dat")
repeat
    whatever = read{line/byte/int/float} (file)
until eof(file)

this will repeat until the end of data.

Alternatively if using a for next..
for ....
   if not eof(file)
      whatever= readline(file)
   else
      exit
   endif
next

Merrie(Posted 2006) [#4]
Let me review the code first and if I still cant' find it I'll post it. Thanks for the suggestions!

Adam Novagen(Posted 2006) [#5]