what would be best general way to approach this?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/what would be best general way to approach this?

timmport(Posted 2006) [#1]
I have an idea for something that I would like to do. Because I am new to Blitz programming I am wondering if I have the general idea about how to approach this.

I would like to create an assempbly line. A pipe(a mesh) would drip objects (will look like clay) onto a conveyor belt(also a mesh). When each object makes contact with the conveyor belt the object will translate down the length of the conveyor.

For the dripping pipe I would make a particle system that would release a single particle at regular intervals. When each particle makes contact with the conveyor it will be parented to some type of invisible repeating transform entity for a short period of time.

Any suggestions about the best way to approach this would be appreciated.

Can someone point me to a tutorial on particles. I have looked all through the forums and code archives?

b32(Posted 2006) [#2]
I think you could maybe use an animated mesh for dripping the clay-like objects. First, place the clay mesh in the pipe. Then start the animation. When it hits the belt, pause the animation and start moving the object along with the belt. I've never used particles but why not use Types ?

D4NM4N(Posted 2006) [#3]
What heppens to the blob when its on the conveyor, does it turn into something else?

The way id do it is using types as bram suggested, a particle system is kind of the same thing, or atleast done in the same way.

A very basic "particle system". This is outa my head so sont expect it to work :P

;mainloop
repeat
  if newdrop_needed add_drop()

updatedrops()

updateworld
  renderworld
  flip
until

function add_drop()
     d.drop=new drop
     d\h%=meshhandle
     d\x#=drops_startx
     d\y#=drops_starty
     d\z#=drops_startz
     d\dropvelocity_Y# = 0
     d.onconveryor%=false
endif

function updatedrops()
  for d.drop=each drops