Swing

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Swing

Jeepster(Posted 2006) [#1]
Ok, so I don't know too much about programming yet, but I am working on this game where you are a robot thingy and you have a grapple hook type thing and you can shoot it to swing across gaps and pull yourself up and whatnot. But, because I'm not good at programming yet, I'd like to see some sort of code where you are a box or something and you can move around and shoot a rope thing in 1st person view and then go back to a 2nd person view and be able to swing around with the arrow keys and adjust the length of rope with the mouse scroller thing. I know that seems like a really complex thing (at least it does to me), but I'd really appriciate it if somebody could point me in the right direction
Thanks
ps - I don't have a physics engine so the rope doesn't have to be very realistic - (unless you can make it realistic)

b32(Posted 2006) [#2]
Maybe you could use an animated mesh for the hook and rope? I'm sure there is some mathematical way to solve this, but I think animations would be easier.

Maybe instead of a hook, you could use a plunger (http://nyc.metblogs.com/plunger.jpg) ? Because, when it hits, say, the ceiling, it attaches itself to the same place where it hit.
A hook should withdraw a bit to get 'stuck' behind an object. That would make it more complex to get it right.

First, you could use "CameraPick camera, MouseX(), MouseY()" to determine if the mouse is aimed at an object in the scene. These objects should be made 'pickable' using EntityPickMode obj, 2. Try to export the entire scene that is 'plungable' into one file. That way you will only need to call EntityPickMode once.

If the mouse is aimed at a plungable object, you could play the first animation that fires the hook away from the robot. Instead of making short and long animations, just make a long version and pause it when the hook is more or less at the right distance. (EntityDistance)