BB3d vs BMAX (2D)

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/BB3d vs BMAX (2D)

Tobo(Posted 2006) [#1]
Wotcha, folks.

I know this must have been asked a million times, but I've searched and searched and can't find anything!

What does Bmax have over BB3D?

I'm a relative noob when it comes to programming, and have only just got me head round sprites & types.

Do I perserveer with BB3D which I already own, or is BMax worth the plunge.

In time I'd like to try 3D, but for now, a 2D Manic Minor clone would make me very happy.

Is there something fundementally superior about BMax that i'm missing?

Many thanks.

D4NM4N(Posted 2006) [#2]
Id Stick to blitz3d for a while and prehaps once mastered make the move to bmax.

Blitz max has a lot more potential to do a lot more, but, it currently lacks the ease of use and the help is still a long way from friendly.

In my view (this will probably be dissagreed with) is bmax is a lot more middle level (like c++ etc) than b3d is a basic language, and at the moment a fair bit more complex and 'hardcore'

If you want to write your first game and get the programming fundementals stick with blitz3d, it is more than capable.

Ross C(Posted 2006) [#3]
I totally agree with the man above :o) (not god, D-Grafix :o) )

H&K(Posted 2006) [#4]
If you are learning to program, then dont start by using B3d and then moving to Bmax.

Bmax seems to lack ease of use for B3d users, so if you learn to program on b3d, then Bmax seems less easy.

Go straight to Bmax. DGraphix is right, but honestly the language structure you first become good at, will stay with you for ages. So if you are a Noob (as you said), then learn on BMax

Ross C(Posted 2006) [#5]
I would def say, blitz3d is easier to pick up than BMAX. Plus, blitz3d has nearly all it's bugs ironed out. Where-as BMAX still has bugs that could frustrate a new user, and have him/her scratching their heads, when it's BMAX's fault.