What is a z-buffer?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/What is a z-buffer?

Drekinn(Posted 2006) [#1]
I'm new to the 3D realm of Blitz, and know these must be embarrassingly basic questions, but I'd like to know the following:

1) What is a z-buffer (and z-buffering)?

2) What is meant by the term 'normal'?

I tried scouring the forums for answers but only found obscure references. Any guidance would be most appreciated.

puki(Posted 2006) [#2]
Well, they are not Blitz specific. More general 3D related.

Normals are used in 3D calculations such as in checking what direction a polygon is facing - ie which way a polygon's normal is pointing.

The 'Blitz' definition is 'Recalculates all normals in a mesh. This is necessary for correct lighting if you have not set surface normals using 'VertexNormals' commands.'

In Blitz you generally use normals for lighting reasons - but you could use them for backface culling, etc too.

Here is a link regarding the z-buffer:
http://www.toymaker.info/Games/html/z_buffer.html

Blitz also has a wbuffer command. Type wbuffer into Blitz3D - click on the word, then press F1 for a bit of info.

You are best Googling your two questions as they are not Blitz-based. I believe though that there are quirks to the z-buffer in Blitz3D.

Mustang(Posted 2006) [#3]
One definition:

Z-Buffer

The z-buffer is a portion of the local memory that is used to store depth information about each pixel in a frame. Depending on what type of process is used, each pixel in the next new frame is checked against the values in the z-buffer - if the new pixel is nearer than the one in the z-buffer, its value overwrites the old one and appears in the final frame. However, if the new pixel is further away, then the old value remains in the z-buffer and the pixel is not displayed.
The z-buffer is often referred to as the depth buffer for obvious reasons.

Another z/w-article:

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,1697,1171859,00.asp

sswift(Posted 2006) [#4]