Two *simple* questions in one complicated thread!

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Two *simple* questions in one complicated thread!

Buggy(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hey again. I know I ask a lot of questions here, and I know that in the past I've asked a ton of questions about ball physics for complete idiots and received tremendous support - to no avail. My skull just seems to thick to grasp your suggestions. In other words, I am a beginner programmer and I am stupid.

Anyway, I'm at it again, hopelessly trying to comprehend basic ball physics.

1. I have forward/backwards physics down (with an inertia variable that is added to the ball every frame), and I could probably figure out side-to-side physics on my own if the need arises. But I'm completely stumped with up 'n' down physics!

How does the computer increase the ball's speed when going off a ramp, but keep it rolling down (I suppose with a gravity# variable), and how on earth does the computer detect the difference between the ball rolling into a wall or building and - say - a slight hill that it can roll over?

My second question is much simpler.

2. What would be a good, FREE modellor to use to make both character models and terrains and levels? Would Blender be good?

H&K(Posted 2006) [#2]
http://www.physicsclassroom.com/Class/vectors/U3L2a.html

But My main advice would be to get one of the Physics wrappers/Mods, and use them

Buggy(Posted 2006) [#3]
Thanks H&K, but that physics lesson only works with projectiles. I can do that fine; I simply have trouble with the part where the sphere detects how to go off of a ramp, or bounce when it hits the ground.

I also want to figure out my own physics.

Dreamora(Posted 2006) [#4]
1. That all bases on the collision normal. The normal tells in which direction the surface of the collision is pointing ...