Cleaning up

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Cleaning up

Bankie(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hi, I've been using Blitz3D for just a few months and (probably amateurishly) I've been loading/creating all my resources (meshes, surfaces, textures, entities, etc) at startup and keeping them loaded the whole time.

Now, I want to start doing things in a tidier fashion. I imagine that what I should be doing is loading/creating resources on starting the game from the in-game menu, then destroying everything on game over.

However, Blitz seems to lack clean-up commands. I can delete entities, brushes and textures, but I can't free up meshes and surfaces. I can, however, use ClearSurface, so at least the mesh wouldn't be visible when the user is returned to the menu.

My simple question is: Do I just declare my meshes and surfaces on program startup and use ClearSurface as described above, or am I missing something and there's a way of freeing up meshes and surfaces?

Ross C(Posted 2006) [#2]
FreeEntity deletes a mesh :o)

If you really want to manage your resources, you should look at coding something of an engine. A piece of code, that handles say a level file and loads in everything it needs, based on that file.

Me personally, i'm creating a level builder and using the EntityName() command to attach instructions, so to speak for the entities. But this requires you to write a save routine for the format. Another way, would be to write a simple placement editor for your meshes, and save their locations and file paths. When loading in a level, you would load your text file in and the engine would read all the entity locations from that and position and create them.