Plain Ol' Help

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Plain Ol' Help

Buggy(Posted 2006) [#1]
I need help.

I thought it would be cool if I had little black spheres representing smoke to come out of the exhaust pipe of my car-like things in my latest game-like thing. They would rise up and fade away, in which case I'd delete them.

Well, I'm not too good at Blitz3D... yet, but I tried... and failed miserably.

Here's the pertinent code:

Function bubbles()

For bubble.bubble = Each bubble

MoveEntity bubble\entity, Rnd(-.1, .1), .2, Rnd(-.1, .1)
		ScaleEntity bubble\entity, 2.5, 2.5, 2.5, True
		bubble\alpha# = bubble\alpha# - .05
		EntityAlpha bubble\entity, bubble\alpha#
		Print bubble\alpha#
		WaitKey

If bubble\alpha# < .1

FreeEntity bubble\entity
			Return

EndIf

Next

If Rand(5) = 5

bubble.bubble = New bubble

bubble\entity = CreateSphere(8)
			bubble\alpha = 1
			ScaleEntity bubble\entity, .1, .1, .1
			EntityColor bubble\entity, 0, 0, 0
			PositionEntity bubble\entity, EntityX(sphere\exhaustpipe), EntityY(sphere\exhaustpipe), EntityZ(sphere\exhaustpipe) - 2

EndIf		

End Function

When an entity gets to the point of deletion, no matter what number I set for that point, an error pops up at me saying that the entity does not exist (it highlights the MoveEntity line).

If I try using "delete bubble\entity" instead of FreeEntity (is there a difference?), it says it "can't delete non-Newtype."

Furthermore, the bubbles always spawn from the same point, and not from the end of my exhaust pipe.

Basically, here are the big three questions:

1. How can I delete the bubbles?

2. Is there a difference between FreeEntity and Delete?

3. How can I make the bubbles not follow me, but spawn from the end of the exhaust pipe?

Ross C(Posted 2006) [#2]
FreeEntity frees the mesh, blitz is using, from memory.