scan code problem

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/scan code problem

jvc(Posted 2006) [#1]
hi, i'm new to blitz3d, however i'm having problems with the scancode for Pause and NumLock.

They seem to be strangely reversed when i test my keyboard using just a simple KeyDown() test. The rest
of the keys work fine...

what is wrong here???

mindstorms(Posted 2006) [#2]
You will have to post some code...

Sir Gak(Posted 2006) [#3]
Using the Scancodes Picker under Hekp, I get code 197 for the Pause/Break key, and 69 for the Numlock key, which are the numeric values listed for Scancodes..

jvc(Posted 2006) [#4]
While Not KeyHit(1)

If KeyDown(69) ;num lock
Print "numlock is pressed!"
Else If KeyDown(197) ;break
Print "break is pressed!"
Else
Print "others"
End If

Wend

On my keyboard, if i press numlock i get break, and
if i press break, i get numlock. Is my keyboard mulfunctioning???

Matty(Posted 2006) [#5]
Unusual problem. Is your keyboard in any way 'non standard'? I doubt your keyboard is malfunctioning but it is rather odd that this is occuring.

Sir Gak(Posted 2006) [#6]
to all:
I tried jvc's little test, and I get "break" when I press NumLock. However, I get nothing (ie: "others") when I press Pause|Break.
Just to try a variation on a theme, I rewrote the code as follws:
While Not KeyHit(1)

If KeyHit(69) ;num lock
Print "numlock is pressed!"
EndIf
If KeyDown(197) ;break
Print "break is pressed!"
End If

Wend

Now, I get the symptoms as described by jvc. So, what is going on? I have a generic keyboard, nothing special.

Has anyone else has tried this?

Ross C(Posted 2006) [#7]
I get the same problem here too. Maybe a bug report should be raised?

Sir Gak(Posted 2006) [#8]
Yep, bug report time. jvc, care to do the honors, since you discovered it?

jvc(Posted 2006) [#9]
ok, thanks for the confirmation. bug report sent to support, hope they resolve this fast.

Sir Gak(Posted 2006) [#10]
Oh, BTW, jvc, since you're new to Blitz, welcome!