Masking an entity image

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Masking an entity image

rockford(Posted 2006) [#1]
Whilst I've been using Blitz3D for a few years, I've now started playing around with the actual 3D components and have come across a problem.

I have an entity that has an image textured to it. However, parts of the image (specifically black - RGB(0,0,0) are being masked out, meaning that the background image is showing through what is supposed to be a solid object.

Question - Is there a command (or a function) that will allow me to set the entity mask colour like the MaskImage Image,R,G,B command? I've looked through the commandset and can't seem to find one that suits my needs. I want the maskimage colour to be 255,0,255 if possible.

It seems odd that I can't show black in my entities.

Please don't say re-draw your image texture, replacing RGB 0,0,0 to RGB 0,0,5 or something silly like that - I have over 100 images and I haven't the time or inclination to redo them all!

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Ross C(Posted 2006) [#2]
Do the following

ClearTextureFilters()
TextureFilter "",1+8

At the top of your code, just after the graphics command :o) What this does, is clears all the filters that are preset for textures. In your case, stops the mask flag from being used.

Ross C(Posted 2006) [#3]
If you want to mask of a colour in a texture, use this function:

;---------------------------------------------------------------------
;  This function will mask the passed across RGB of the texture also |
;  passed across. Do NOT pass across a value for flag if you only    |
;  want to mask an exact colour.                                     |
;---------------------------------------------------------------------
;parameters = texture   : the texture you wish to clear alpha information from
;           = r1        : the red value to mask
;           = g1        : the green value to mask
;           = b1        : the blue value to mask