FPS and tutorials for using my gun??

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/FPS and tutorials for using my gun??

W(Posted 2006) [#1]
I am still learning how to use Blitz 3-d, and I would like to see a tutorial of using guns in an FPS, you know something to show me the ropes in the firing of guns,trajectories, etc.

Any help would be appreciated

WolRon(Posted 2006) [#2]
Have you seen my FPS example at my programming tutorial?

Sir Gak(Posted 2006) [#3]
WolRon's FPS example is an excellent, easy-to-understand, starting point to get your FPS feet wet.

W(Posted 2006) [#4]
I understand most of the code fine, but I am unable to get my bullet to fire from my gun, it doesn't move. I'll show you what I have thus far in my CheckWeapon() Function..

;my function for firing the gun
Function CheckWeapon()
If MouseHit(1)
shot.bullet = New bullet
shot\model = LoadMesh("C:\Documents and Settings\flacka\Desktop\Game\bullet head.3ds")
shot\casing = LoadMesh("C:\Documents and Settings\flacka\Desktop\Game\b caseing.3ds")
shot\x = EntityX(pistol\model)
shot\y = EntityY(pistol\model)
shot\z = EntityZ(pistol\model)
shot\zv = .5

ScaleEntity shot\model,.01,.01,.01
PositionEntity shot\model,EntityX(pistol\model),EntityY(pistol\model),EntityZ(pistol\model)
RotateEntity shot\model,EntityPitch(pistol\model),EntityYaw(pistol\model),EntityRoll(pistol\model)
EndIf

For shot.bullet = Each bullet
MoveEntity shot\model, 0,0,shot\zv
If Abs(EntityX(shot\model)) > 10000
FreeEntity shot\model
Delete shot
ElseIf Abs(EntityY(shot\model)) > 10000
FreeEntity shot\model
Delete shot
ElseIf Abs(EntityZ(shot\model)) > 10000
FreeEntity shot\model
Delete shot
EndIf
UpdateWorld
Next

End Function

I am trying to get the code in WolRon's Example tutorial, I don't think the idea is sinking in....

Please Help

Sir Gak(Posted 2006) [#5]