Capture

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Capture

sting(Posted 2005) [#1]
Ok, What im trying to do is, when the program starts, take a screen capture then with that make the program full screen and place the picture as the background and do various alphad sprite animations on top to make it look like its actualy (for example) ripping through the back of the screen and doing something blag blah. My problem is that whenever i find some sort of code to take the screenshot on start, theres always this black console box in the center of the screen that will later turn to the program window. Can i get rid of it?

Baystep Productions(Posted 2005) [#2]
no. not with out really tricky userlibs. as a beginner I would put that on the back burner right now.

But if your persistant, there is a code archive for splash screen, maybe a transparent one would fix the problem?

sting(Posted 2005) [#3]
Hmmm, well i feel like i can dive right in being as ive been using blitz for some years, but you gave me an idea with the splach. I have an autorun program that suports that sorta thing so i think i can intigrate. Thanks

big10p(Posted 2005) [#4]
Could you write a stub loader in another language that saves a screengrab to file and then launches your blitz app which loads it? Not knowing much about windows myself, I'm not sure if it's possible to wrtie a windowless app, though.

WolRon(Posted 2005) [#5]
Not knowing much about windows myself, I'm not sure if it's possible to wrtie a windowless app, though.
Yes, it's possible.

_PJ_(Posted 2005) [#6]
Am I right in thinking you are actually trying to capture the desktop? I can't tell ya how to do it, but I know the question has been raised before, so a search of the forums should help ya :)

The reason why you get the console box, is that before you set your graphics mode, Blitz automatically creates a runtime window, ready for the front-buffer text etc as a default.