Do you HAVE to loop through types?

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Do you HAVE to loop through types?

puki(Posted 2005) [#1]
I am going to have to make use of large groups of types for my RPG.

I'm no expert on types, having always loved arrays.

Now that I need to store so much more data in types, a previous problem that was not really a problem is becoming a major problem.

It seems (as far as I know) that to find a particular type, you have to loop through the whole group:

For blah.blahblah= Each blahblah

Next

This is no good to me. Can you set the start and end point of the For/Next loop, or does it always have to loop from beginning to end of the type?

If not, I'll have to subdivide my types - which won't be a major problem.

GitTech(Posted 2005) [#2]
type blahblah
        field nextBlah.blahblah
end type

startBlah.blahblah=first blahblah
endBlah.blahblah=last blahblah

currentBlah.blahblah=startBlah
while (currentBlah<>endBlah)
        currentBlah=currentBlah\nextBlah
wend

puki(Posted 2005) [#3]
Mmm, I don't like the way that you have to create a new field.

Going to have to rethink how I use types - I want to do as little searching/sorting as possible.

puki(Posted 2005) [#4]
In fact, looking at somebody else's code they put the whole For/Next loop for their types in side the main loop and have separate If/EndIf for each main thing they want to do.

Stevie G(Posted 2005) [#5]
Why not use an array of types like so ...

Type Test
 field x, y
end type

Dim MyType.Test( 100 )

For l = 0 to 100
  MyType(l)  = new Test
  MyType(l)\x = rand(10)
  MyType(l)\y = rand(10)
next

Then you can iterate through a specific number of them ...

for l = 12 to 22
  x = MyType( l )\x
next

Alternatively, depending on how you're doing things you could make use of the object & handle commands.

Stevie

puki(Posted 2005) [#6]
I was keeping away from Object and Handle - purely coz they are not totally legit.