Some help on tools

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Some help on tools

joko229(Posted 2005) [#1]
Hello all;

I am hoping for some general direction. After over 30 years in Corporate IT and I am going to retire next year and I have decided to write a game. The game I have designed is a puzzle adventure based on one of my favorite periods of history. That way I get to indulge two interests at once.

I have looked at all the engines available and think I’ve decided on Blitz, and since I’m not an artist I intend to purchase the content from sites like Turbosquid or Renderosity.

I don’t really care if the game requires the latest video cards but I do care that it looks good and I’m lost on what Blitz can support in the way of character models. The ones that I think are good enough, range from a minimum of 2,000 and up to 5,000 polygons. I don’t know if that is feasible for the Blitz b3d format or what tools would be best for producing them.

I’m looking at Gamespace to knit it all together and I have settled on an optical motion capture system for character animation.
I need a little help on rigging options; Gamespace doesn’t seem to import BVH motion capture files and Max looks like it would take a lot of work to learn - I’m looking for some fun, not a new profession. I came across an interesting program called FragMOTION that will import BVH but I don’t know if it is a game quality tool or will support the higher polygon models. There is tool from Greenbriar Studios called Toolbox III that looks like it will do what I want, but it doesn't seem to support B3D.

Programming the game logic will be no problem. I have cycled through at least a dozen languages so far. I’m looking for tools for building the game graphics that are easy to learn and use. This is something that I want to show my kids (adult children) shortly after I retire and I am really committed to getting it done.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Regards, Joko