Total newb working on a map building engine

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Total newb working on a map building engine

IsaacJS2(Posted 2005) [#1]
Hello all. This is my first program, so if I'm making some elementary school mistake try not to laugh too hard. Or hit. Or yell... :-)

Anyway, I'd like to work my way up to a turn-based RPG strategy game in 2D and I'm taking it a piece at a time. I figured the first thing to master is a random map creator like the old school games used to use since that's how I want my game to work. This is my first attempt, and once I get this *very basic* version running, I'll start trying to improve it. But for now, I'm getting the dreaded "Memory Access Violation" error. From what I've found here in the forums, it appears that Blitz isn't loading my graphics correctly or I'm mishandling the TileImage variable somehow. That's my guess, but I don't see the glitch (yet). Note the TileImage command is where the debugger says "Image Does Not Exist."

Any one see what I'm missing? I'm using BIDE and the png files are in the same folder as the Blitz3d code. I have also tried adding the full folder description instead of just "picture.png" but that made no difference.

Thanks for any help.

==========================================================

;Draw map image and test world creation algorithm for tweaking

Global x=0 ;set coordinates x and y to 0 and make it a global variable
Global y=0
Global DrawMapImage
Global LandArea

StartWorld() ;start program

Function StartWorld()
Graphics 800,600 ;Set video mode

Setbuffer Backbuffer() ;Draw these images to the backbuffer

Grassmap=LoadImage("Grass 1.png") ;Load Images...
Oceanmap=LoadImage("Ocean 2.png")
Forestmap=LoadImage("Forest 1.png")
Desertmap=LoadImage("Desert Sand 1.png")
Icemap=LoadImage("Ice 1b.png")
CreateWorld() ;Call Function CreateWorld
End Function
;

Function CreateWorld() ;Function begin
LandArea=Rnd(0,4) ;Pick a random number between 0 and 4