DLL's - HELP ME

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/DLL's - HELP ME

Dr. Wildrick(Posted 2005) [#1]
I am very confised, while I have seen a number of examples of code that call windows API function and custom DLL's as well, I cant get any of my own code to work.
Can someone- please - explain to me how you set up a DLL call, pass parameters to it and get them back. Please keet the example SIMPLE - Im a newbie to this language.
Thanks!

fraggle(Posted 2005) [#2]
1.: You should declare your function in your dll with declspec like this:
__declspec (dllexport) int initjava(LPCTSTR jvmpath, LPCTSTR classpath, LPCTSTR classname);
2.: You have to write a .decls file:
blitzjava.decls:
.lib "blitzjava.dll"
initjava%(jvmpath$, classpath$, classname$)

place this file in your userlibs directory (default c:\Program Files\Blitz3d\userlibs)

3. restart Blitz3d editor and call your function with:
result%=initjava("path", "classpath","classname")

As you see, you declare function prototypes in the decls file with " functionname[returntype%/$/#](params[%/$/#])"
If you want to return a string or other sort of array/buffer you should use blitz-buffers.
E.g.:
.c:
__declspec (dllexport) void convertName(char*buffer,int size);

.decls:
convertName(bank,bankSize)

Blitz:
bankSize=128
bank=CreateBank(bankSize)
Poke...(bank)
convertName(bank,bankSize)
Peek...(bank)

P.S. not doing this a long time. if your computer explodes, it's not my fault. I warned you *g*

BlackJumper(Posted 2005) [#3]
You should also be aware that some compilers may 'mangle' your function name (e.g. truncating it to 8 characters, etc.) so you need to know what function name was actually exported in the compiled dll, rather than just assume that it remains what you named it in your code.

Many compilers will have 'switches' that may allow you to switch off name-mangling. Others have it off by default.

Lane(Posted 2005) [#4]
What kind of Doctor are you?

Dr. Wildrick(Posted 2005) [#5]
My PhD is in imaging sciences.