How to create "rooms"

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/How to create "rooms"

mikelandzelo(Posted 2005) [#1]
Hi there!

I am very new to Blitz 3D, but not new to game-making.
I first started with RPG-Maker 2000, then changed to RPG-Maker 2003 and finally programmed with the Game Maker 5.3a and 6.1.
But now I really want to create my own 3D games and I have an interesting question (probably only for me...):

How do you create rooms?
In the listed programs above you've had only to "add" a room by clicking a symbol. So how do you realize this in B3D?

My idea is to create seperate *.bb files for every room. Correct me if this is incorrect.

And another question is: How to you change the location, room to another room, eg going through a door and then you are in another room?!

If you can help me, that would be great!
Thanks in advance,
Michael aka Banjonator

puki(Posted 2005) [#2]
Well, you wouldn't exactly create separate .bb files.

You could use 'Maplet':
http://www.blitzbasic.com/Products/maplet.php

Maplet is free:
http://www.blitzbasic.com/file/get.php?file=/Products/demos/MapletSetup101.exe

Rook Zimbabwe(Posted 2005) [#3]
Yep... I got Maplet when I bought Blitz3D. It should be downloadable. You can create rooms in it OR you can create bigger levels areas in it. It does take some messing around with to get good with it.

Maplet is a great introductory tool. It does have its limitations but since you are just dipping in to the waters of programming so to speak... it is great.

Make a room then make a map... try both... :)

RZ

Andy(Posted 2005) [#4]
>How do you create rooms?
>In the listed programs above you've had only to "add" a
>room by clicking a symbol. So how do you realize this in
>B3D?

When you call Graphics3D, you start with a completely empty world.

'Rooms' can be done in hundreds of different ways and part of the fun in programming is figuring out how YOU want to do it. You can do it in code or model every room individually.