Need help with Cartography lighting in Blitz3D

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Need help with Cartography lighting in Blitz3D

gimpy1(Posted 2005) [#1]
I'm new to both Blitz3D and Cartography Shop 4.1.

I can create a scene in Cartography Shop that looks great.....for me that is.

When I export it as an x model and load in the model and apply it's associated lightmap, the scene looks really drab and washed out.

PLEASE! What am I dont wrong?

Any help will be most greatly appreciated.
Giompy

Erroneouss(Posted 2005) [#2]
The best way I've found to use CS4 with B3D is to
use Halo's CSM loader. The source is up on his website
(I think): http://www.leadwerks.com

gimpy1(Posted 2005) [#3]
Thanks theduck,
I tried the CSM loader and got the same drab results as with the xloader and b3dloader. ???
Thanks for the information. I really appreciate the help.
Have a great day.
Gimpy.

Sledge(Posted 2005) [#4]
Have you got

entityfx myLevel,1

in there anywhere?

Howitzer(Posted 2005) [#5]
Alternatively you can set the gamma to make dark areas darker and light areas lighter using this code:

; Gamma Controller
For x=0 To 255
SetGamma x,x,x,(x+x/3)+10,(x+x/3)+10,(x+x/3)+10
Next
UpdateGamma

The numbers within the parentheses will control your contrast (lower the number, the higher the contrast) while the numbers outside of the parentheses will control the brightness (higher the number, the higher the brightness). What you want is high contrast with low brightness. So I would set the last three values in Set Gamma to:

SetGamma x,x,x,(x+x/2)+0,(x+x/2)+0,(x+x/2)+0

I found this works really well with levels made in Maplet or .x levels with .bmp/.jpg lightmaps. Or any level that appears to be a bit dark.

Sledge(Posted 2005) [#6]