(2D) Selecting and dragging an object with mouse

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/(2D) Selecting and dragging an object with mouse

smokingkipper(Posted 2005) [#1]
hey all

I have created a few boxes on screen via a Type and I want to be able to select them with my mouse cursor and while my left mouse button is held down, be able to drag them to another location.

I have got this working to some extent by testing for a collision with my cursor image and my box image, and if True then setting the box X,Y to equal the cursor image X,Y until I release the mouse button. However if I move the mouse around at a reasonably quick pace, the mouse cursor breaks free from the box image and so the collision test fails.

After spending quite some time on this (real newbie here :op ) I have decided to ask for some help...Maybe there is a more elegant solution instead of using the image collision function?

I have tried avoiding the collision function call and just testing to see if...

mouseX() > imgBoX and (mouseX() < (imgBoX+imgSize)
mouseY() > imgBoY and (mouseY() < (imgBoY+imgSize)

but the result is much the same

then I tried to make sure the mouseX() and mouseY() never stray too far from the Box image centre by bringing them back a few pixels if the cursor image moves too far from the Box images centre.

I hope I am being clear.

Anyway, any help with this would be appreciated..cheers guys.

n8r2k(Posted 2005) [#2]
I am not sure what you are doing exactly but you can try out my example of clicking and dragging in the code archivies at http://www.blitzbasic.com/codearcs/codearcs.php?code=1315 right now its not commented, so just post if you need help.

BobR3D(Posted 2005) [#3]
Don't keep on testing for collisions or congruency (overlapping) WHILE you're dragging... you've already detected that the mouse cursor was over the rectangle when you clicked the button.