Dot3, BumpMaps, NormalMaps, Norm-doty-bumsy things

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Dot3, BumpMaps, NormalMaps, Norm-doty-bumsy things

Nexus6(Posted 2005) [#1]
Can someone please explain to me the difference between these techniques.

I have heard that B3D does not natively support these techniques, but that they can be implemented. I have seen a demo of a Greek statue with a light rotating around it and was very impressed with the level of detail that was acheived from a low polygon model.

If this can be acheived, why isn't everybody using it to create seemingly high polygon models within their games?

Last but not least, can someone explain to me (step by step) how to create and implement these effects, remembering I am a newbie. eg

1. Switch on PC
2. Load blitz
3. load Milkshape
4. etc etc

Mustang(Posted 2005) [#2]
You don't need normal maps, and judging from your question it might be too difficult for you to do that anyways (technically).

Reason why everybody is NOT using normal maps is that they are not needed; it's hype word for tech level that's Blitz is in (DX7). Also Blitz normal maps are world-space and that makes them usability limited (comparing to tangent-space ones).

And do you really think that normal-mapped DOOM3 models look realistic? To me they look like bad plastic action figures. So, I would suggest that you forget all about normal maps at least until you have game 99% done using more easier tech.

_PJ_(Posted 2005) [#3]
Just a bit of extra info you may find useful - I did.

sswift(Posted 2005) [#4]
Normal maps store the angle of the surface at each pixel in the texture, just as an alpha map stores the transparency at each pixel in a texture.

Bump maps store the height of the surface at each pixel.

Normal maps are much more accurate the bumpmaps, allowing you to represent surfaces that bumpmaps would have a hard time reproducing well, but they're a hell of a lot harder to generate.