UVW Mapping

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/UVW Mapping

Toasty(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hi guys, I'm really new to this but I need to create an interactive environment created in 3DS Max. My classmates are all rendering camera movements then importing them into flash but to me it sounds kind of a waste of a good 3d environment to be stuck with a camera animation, so I wan to run around mine.

How do you go about applying a texture you've created in 3DS Max? Anybody got any good tuts? All I seem to find are heightmaps and texturing cubes with jpgs but I have transparency maps and all sorts.

Thanks

PetBom(Posted 2004) [#2]
The material and mapping and mapping methods you are using in Max are not applicable in Blitz3D (or any real-time rendering application). They are designed to be used for production rendering. What you need to do is to generate a single bitmap containing your (perhaps complex) texture, that can be used in Blitz3D. The kye to do this is using the "Render to texture" function in Max to 'bake' your texture.

Read this article to get an overview of the process:

Static Meshes: From 3DS Max 5

Especially chapter 9 describes what you are asking for.

Texture Baking (Creating Skins with 3DS Max)

The target of this tutorial is Unreal, but the concepts are the same for exporting to any real-time application.

Should set you on the right track...

//PetBom

Toasty(Posted 2004) [#3]
HAH! that's exactly what I needed, thanks heaps

Toasty(Posted 2004) [#4]
hmm ok I've done that and I have my ASE file now what function do I use to load it up?

jhocking(Posted 2004) [#5]
ASE file? No no, get B3D Pipeline and export to b3d file format. Click on 'Specs and Utils' at the top of this page to get the exporter.

AdrianT(Posted 2004) [#6]
um yeah like the Hocking monster says, if your using 3dsmax you really ought to be using B3d pipeline for export. Its by far the best exporter to to blitz from any 3D app and just happens to be for 3dsmax.

Toasty(Posted 2004) [#7]