EntityRadius Problems? We've had them before...

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/EntityRadius Problems? We've had them before...

wizzlefish(Posted 2004) [#1]
I had this really weird thing happen. I think it might be problems with "EntityRadius," but I can't tell for sure.

Anyway, here's a pic:

Stevie G(Posted 2004) [#2]
Can't see you picture?

Ross C(Posted 2004) [#3]

uppercase file extension.

Ross C(Posted 2004) [#4]
Decrease your near camera range. That'll help :o)

wizzlefish(Posted 2004) [#5]
OK.

wizzlefish(Posted 2004) [#6]
Thanks - it's fixed.

I did

CameraRange camera, .1, 1000

Rhyolite(Posted 2004) [#7]
..but dont forget that as you reduce the near distance you may also have to reduce the far distance or you can get z order sorting problems I believe. Your current settings look fine (I think?). Hehe, I'm no expert myself. There were some good posts on this, explaining the whole z order sorting thing and camera ranges - maybe do a search.

wizzlefish(Posted 2004) [#8]
I'll change the far distance when the time comes, right now it doesn't matter.

Ross C(Posted 2004) [#9]
I think it was said that a ratio of 1:10000 was ok to use :)

wizzlefish(Posted 2004) [#10]
ok

WolRon(Posted 2004) [#11]
So, .1 to 1000 would be exactly the same...

wizzlefish(Posted 2004) [#12]
exactly

I've fixed everything - this problem is done.

jhocking(Posted 2004) [#13]
"I think it was said that a ratio of 1:10000 was ok to use"

That's probably okay for 32 bit, but on 16 bit things will get pretty ugly. I stay under 1:1000, and usually try for even smaller. Polygons outside that are a waste to render anyway.

EDIT: 'pretty ugly,' I just noticed that's an oxymoron.

Zethrax(Posted 2004) [#14]
The near camera range apparently has far more affect on z-buffering usage than the far camera range. As I understand it, the z-buffer works logarythmically, with the detail density increasing dramatically the nearer the polygons are to the camera.