Tag System - Up The Swanie

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Tag System - Up The Swanie

Clyde(Posted 2004) [#1]
Hiya All! :)

As you'll see from the routine below, I am trying to implement a tag system (like html codes to switch what should effect the text) And I have never used the Left$ or Right$ commands before, and as you will also spot that it doesnt work in my favour at all. And thus, I'd really appreciate any help in getting it working as it should do.

What it should do is:

Read the Message$ text
Decipher any tags found in the square brackets
Reset to just before the tag
Change the colour / effect or what have you
And draw the finished outcome.

Im using an imagebuffer as I can reposition the whole thing alot easier, then calling to update each time etc.

Cheers & Many many thanks,
Mikey F :)

Rob Farley(Posted 2004) [#2]
In the alien breed CP code.zip, in inc\utils.bb there's a function called readitem.

Have a read and see it this helps.

BlackD(Posted 2004) [#3]
Here's one I wrote a while back. Uses a similar system, except ^WH or ^BL, etc. I'm sure you could adapt it. Very fast, and doesn't require a graphics buffer, or creating images on the fly. Just uses text commands. :)

Example included of course - the guts of it is the "Word" TYPE, which is used to split up the sentence into each color code section (or you could use other codes, for bold, etc - I just parse that in the main function call as you can see), and the function.

+BlackD

Clyde(Posted 2004) [#4]
Excellent, I'll look into both!

Cheers!

Clyde(Posted 2004) [#5]
Ok I've had a peek and a poke about the routines, and I am a little lost somewhat.

I've tried to implement different sized tags, and check what to increment with the i=i+??? and as you'll see it horribly wrong.