BlitzPlus -vs Blitz3D

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/BlitzPlus -vs Blitz3D

Kaminari(Posted 2004) [#1]
Is there any advantage to buying both Blitz3D and BlitzPlus since Blitz3D can also do 2D? From the limited information I have read, it seems BlitzPLus may be faster for 2D than Blitz3D... Is this a correct assumption? I have purchased BlitzPlus to start learning game programming and want to also do 3D after I feel comfortable with the 2D concepts. Any opinions on this route of study?
Thanks

Perturbatio(Posted 2004) [#2]
Blitzplus is geared more toward GUI based apps (although it has all the 2D capabilites of the old Blitz2D).
I belive some people have had success using OpenGL with B+ (I don't own B+ so I'm not 100% sure), although B3D is obviously a little easier to start with.

Kaminari(Posted 2004) [#3]
That makes me almost think I should have gone with Blitz3D. The "Game Programming for Teens" just said that it had "Blitz Basic 2D" on the CD. I'm new to both so I wasn't sure which to buy. Impatient and wanted to get started so I bought BlitzPlus thinking that it was better than Blitz3D for 2D and that I would later buy B3D. Does B3D in fact do everything for 2D just as well as BlitzPlus?

soja(Posted 2004) [#4]
BlitzPlus has an event-based engine, so it's more CPU-friendly. (Having said that, it is still 99% backwards compatible with existing BlitzBasic and 2D-only Blitz3D code, which is not event-based.) It also will easily do windowed games (any size) and/or full-screen games to your pleasure. Its compiler has also been completely re-written, and it does indeed manage video graphics more efficiently (though the difference is negligible in many cases).

If you're reading the Game Programming for Teens book, Blitz3D would have been a decent choice because (a) the book was targeted for BlitzBasic, which is a subset of Blitz3D, meaning it's 100% copmatible.