Setting up to Study B3D

Blitz3D Forums/Blitz3D Beginners Area/Setting up to Study B3D

LaserBob(Posted 2004) [#1]
OK, maybe I'm the oldest (66) would-be, B3D programmer, but better late than never, right? I've done a bit of the old GW-Basic and Visual Basic Programming in the past. I'm a retired Physicist and I want to do some modeling of physics problems with B3D. I have a few general questions:
I believe I read that Caligari Truespace is very useful if not required in simplifying object building with B3D.

1) Is this true?
2) I have the freebee version (TrueSpace 3.2). Will this
version work with the current B3D or do I need to
upgrade?
3) I hate on-screen manuals. For B3D there doesn't seem
to be any choice. No books available. Are there any
good BEGINNING books, manuals, etc. on TrueSpace 3 or
whichever version I need?

Keep in mind I'm old and stupid. I'd rather start at the
beginning and move faster than start in the middle and get discouraged or bogged down.
Thank you for your help,
LaserBob

WolRon(Posted 2004) [#2]
1) No. Use whatever modeling program you want. You aren't required to use Truespace.

2)don't know. If it creates .x .md2. .3ds or .b3d models then probably yes.

3) don't know, but like I said above, you don't need truespace

RiverRatt(Posted 2004) [#3]
1) I don't think so. Ive bin using blitz for about a year now and havent neaded Truespace. You can use lots of other modelers out there. Some are free some are cheap, and some cost around 3500$. I havn't tried Truespace but I intend to one of these days. You should try wings 3d and milkshape.
2)don't know.
3)I'm with you on that one but blitz has about the best on-screen manual I have seen. Nothing stoping you from printing it, unless yer out of ink that is. There is a book on blitz. It's called "Game Programing For Teens by Maneesh Sethi". There is 2d and 3d versions. I just have the 2d.

Welcome and good programing.

puki(Posted 2004) [#4]